A feeling of connectedness: We all live under the same sky

Tonight, for the first time in three weeks, I saw stars. I’m not sure if that’s because it’s the first time I’ve remembered to look up or if it’s the first time the clouds have had the politeness to part. It was a refreshing feeling having them above me. It reminded me of several years ago when I lived in Cyprus. When I was feeling homesick I would look up at the moon and think that my loved ones back home would be seeing the same moon in seven hours time, but from 5,000 miles away. I was just lucky enough to be seeing that beautiful moon first. Isn’t that miraculous to think that the Earth is about 25,000 miles in diameter and across all of those miles, we all see the same stars and the same moon, just at different times throughout a 24-hour period.

I’m not sure what it is about that sensation that makes you feel as though you’re connected to the rest of humanity. Like despite the language, the culture, the distance, the religion… the millions of differences that separate us, that same sky is the one thing we all have in common.

I recall a Turkish Cypriot boy from the tiny, religiously and ethnically divided island, who when asked how he felt about the Greek Cypriots on ‘the other side’ whom he had never met said, “we all live under the same sky.”

What a tremendously powerful statement to be made by a child only eight years of age. And what a powerful lesson to be learned by the rest of the world. We all live under the same sky.

Leave a Reply

