Welcome to the world

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” Robert Louis Stevenson, The Silverado Squatters, 1883

The world is a vast and beautiful place, one of many natural wonders, peoples, foods, languages, etc.. With a little curiosity, countless adventures can be found. I grew up in a small-town area in Central Pennsylvania, USA  referred to as “The Cove,” a place where residents are nestled safely between mountainous walls with very few ever venturing far from their safe haven. My curiosity to learn more about the world began at a young age when I started to get lost in books and blogs about foreign lands and people.

I began my travels with a study abroad program, living in Nicosia, Cyprus for 5 months. I traveled throughout the region and continental Europe to 15 countries and 33 cities. I quickly became completely enamored with culture, people, and madness and I started writing stories about my adventures. Since then, I’ve begun to gradually add to my portfolio of worldly experiences.

That’s what this blog is about. Not just travel, but my stories, my adventures, my perceptions, and other things that may interest me along the way. I’m most interested in a deeper experience, a deeper curiosity than what is on the surface of a city, country, or culture. This is my story, my life… perhaps somewhat mad, somewhat offbeat.

The world is a beautiful place. Don’t be afraid to explore it for yourself. Push yourself outside of your comfort zone. As an influential Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “It was a high counsel that I once heard given to a young person, ‘Always do what you are afraid to do.”

With a little curiosity and a willingness to learn, there is no foreign land.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

